posted in <<Elana's Gluten-Free Pantry > Featured > PT COLUMNISTS

Elana's Gluten-Free Pantry
Gluten-free, grain-free Passover seder
another yummy gluten-free recipe from Elana's pantry


Gluten free Passover seder


Over the years many of you have asked for a list of my favorite Passover ingredients. Well here you go – a rundown of the products that will make your grain-free Passover a breeze.

These are the items I have come to depend on for making my Passover Seders since 1998 – the year I was diagnosed with celiac disease. Yes, it’s been a long time since I’ve had gluten, or chametz for that matter! I’ve been kosher for Pesach for close to two decades straight, and I’m happy to share with you the wisdom and experience I’ve gained during that time.

If you’re looking for quick and easy gluten-free, Paleo Passover recipes, check out my Paleo Passover Menu.


  1. Almond Flour
    This might be my all time favorite Passover ingredient. I use almond flour to make Matzo, Matzo Balls and many desserts that are Kosher for Pesach. Almond flour is a fantastic year round choice instead of wheat flour, or chametz, and during Passover I look at it as my gluten-free matzo meal.

  2. Shredded Coconut
    Perfect for making Macaroons; I use shredded coconut in my recipes for both Paleo Macaroons and Egg-Free Macaroons.

  3. Coconut Milk
    A fantastic dairy substitute for your fleishich meals, coconut milk makes unbelievably rich and delicious pareve ice cream.

  4. Coconut Flour
    I use coconut flour in my Egg-Free Macaroons and many other baked goods that are kosher for Passover. It’s a staple in my kitchen all year round.

  5. Horseradish
    Although you can purchase prepared bottled horseradish, I do love buying the whole root fresh and making my own Maror which is incredibly spicy and pungent. For purple Maror try my Beet Maror recipe.

  6. Palm Shortening
    Another great pareve ingredient for the Passover meal, palm shortening is dairy-free, yet rich and creamy like butter. I use Spectrum brand palm shortening which is an ethically and sustainably sourced product.

  7. Chicken Stock
    There’s nothing like homemade chicken stock to cure a cold or serve with matzo balls – so check out my Homemade Chicken Stock recipe! Avoid store bought chicken stock as it can be filled with MSG and certain ingredients that masquerade as healthy, yet contain MSG which can cause headaches and lead to neurological disorders.

  8. Matzo
    I’ve created a matzo recipe for you that is a fantastic vehicle for Maror and Charoset (hello Hillel sandwich, however, it’s not as light and crispy as traditional matzo since it’s made from almond flour. If you can eat grains you may wish to purchase Gluten Free Oat Matzoh. This is the matzo I buy for my older son who has celiac disease. He is 100% gluten-free, and can tolerate some grains so this is a great option for him. When I went grain-free in 2001 I gave up all matzo except my homemade matzo made with almond flour.


My favorite Passover ingredients will help you get through your gluten-free Seder with less stress than ever.

What will you be making for your Seder? Are you gluten-free? Are you grain-free too? Leave a comment below and let us know. Chag Sameach!

recipe courtesy elanaspantry.com

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
share and enjoy:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Google Buzz
  • LinkedIn
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Tumblr
  • RSS
  • email
  • PDF
  • Print
  • Add to favorites

Comments

  • Elliot

    April 21, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    Thanks for the great info.

    Some people do not realize that to say the Hamotzi blessing, only certain grains are permitted. I thought I’d mention that many say the gluten-free oatmeal matzah IS okay for a true substitute for wheat matzah – and it is suitable for saying Hamotzi.

Leave a reply

* means field is required.

*

*